Department of Surgery
School of Medicine Queen's University
← Back to all announcements

SEAMO Innovaton Fund Winners

  • Published Mon Apr 6th 2015

    Congratulations to two of our Surgical Faculty who won the 2014-15 SEAMO Innovation Fund award.

    Dr Jay Engel for Computer-Assisted Breast Conserving Surgery - Proof of Concept Study on Non-palable Tumors

    Dr Andrew Hamilton for Robotic Technology to Quantify Neurological Outcome After Surgery

    The  Ontario AHSC AFP Innovation Fund was created by the Alternative Funding Plan agreement between the Academic Physicians, the Ontario Medical Association (OMA) and the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC). Over $10 million annually was made available to Academic Physicians to support the development of new and innovative approaches to health care delivery and to provide leadership in the dissemination of new knowledge across the healthcare system.

    All participating academic physicians are eligible to apply and a competitive peer review process selects the most deserving projects proposed at each AHSC. 

    The Innovation Fund provides short-term (one or two year) seed funding to support innovative projects and to enable academic physicians to develop programs sufficiently to qualify for additional support and evaluate novel strategies to transform health care delivery in Ontario